Strategically Meeting Your Legal Needs SCHEDULE A FREE CONSULTATION

Misdemeanor Crimes

In criminal law, there are two basic categories of crime; misdemeanors and felonies. In Tennessee, a misdemeanor is a crime that carries a range of punishment of up to eleven months and twenty-nine days incarcerated or on probation. In other words, the crime is punishable by less than one year in jail or on probation. There are dozens and dozens if not hundreds of misdemeanor crimes in Tennessee and there are even different levels of misdemeanor. The classes of misdemeanors go from Class A (the highest-level misdemeanor) to Class C (the lowest level misdemeanor).

  • Class A misdemeanors carry a punishment of not more than 11 months and 29 days in jail and up to a $2,500.00 fine.

  • Class B misdemeanors carry a punishment of not more than six months in jail and up to a $500.00 fine.

  • Class C misdemeanors carry a range of punishment of not more than 30 days in jail and up to $50.00 fine.

Trying to preserve your record?

Simple possession of a controlled substance such as marijuana is an example of a Class A misdemeanor. Misdemeanors also include things like assault, shoplifting/theft under $1,000.00, vandalism and trespassing.

Most of the lower level misdemeanors, Class B and C tend to be driving issues like driving on a suspended or revoked license or reckless driving.

There are many ways to defend a misdemeanor criminal charge in Tennessee but the criminal justice system is complicated and can be overwhelming. Therefore, it is best to get the assistance of a skilled criminal defense attorney. Byars Law knows how to provide the type of defense you need.